On this day in pro wrestling history: Bruno vs. Zbyszko at Shea, Flair beats Dusty for NWA title, Hogan beats Luger for WCW title

By Brian Hoops

1936 – In Waterloo, Iowa; for the Iowa Heavyweight title, Earl Wampler (champion) wrestled Alphonse Bisignano to a no contest, 
Bull Martin beat Frank (Bull) Topas and Hal Rumberg drew with Albert Mills. 

1969 – In Chicago, Illinois;  AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Jack Dillinger, 
Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon beat Flying Redheads Red Bastien & Billy Red Lyons, Wilbur Snyder beat Frank Dillinger, 
Dr X beat Moose Cholak and Bill Watts beat Big K

1972 -In Miami, Florida; NWA Champion Dory Funk Jr beat Bob Orton, Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Jack Brisco & Ron Fuller,
Buddy Colt beat Louie Tillet and Mike Graham beat Taurus

1973 – In Kansas City, Kansas; Man Mountain Mike & Hillbilly Vic & Jim Brunzell vs. Jay French & Togo the Great & Percy Pringle,
Bob Orton vs. Mike George, Ricky Romero vs. Jim Dalton, Danny Little Bear vs. Tokyo Joe, Roger Kirby vs. Rufus R. Jones and Bob Brown vs. Harley Race

1980 – WWF held their “Showdown at Shea” event at Shea Stadium in Flushing, New York, drawing 36, 295 fans. Andre the Giant defeated Hulk Hogan; Tony Atlas defeated Intercontinental Champion Ken Patera via countout;  Bob Backlund & Pedro
Morales defeated The Samoans (Afa & Sika) to win the WWF World Tag Team Title.  However, because Backlund was already the WWF World Heavyweight Champion, he and Morales were forced to vacate the belts. In the main event, Bruno Sammartino defeated Larry Zbyszko in a steel cage match.

1981 – In Minneapolis, Minnesota; Sheik Adnan beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel dq, In a non title match, Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura beat AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell, Jerry Blackwell wrestled to a no contest with Brad Rheingans, 
Billy Robinson beat Ed Boulder (Brutus Beefcake) and Hulk Hogan beat Terry Scholes & Nacho Berrera & Chuck Greenlee

1985 – In Salt Lake City, Utah; In a Boot Camp Match; Sgt. Slaughter & Greg Gagne beat Larry Zbyszko & Nick Bockwinkel,
AWA Champion Rick Martel beat Michael Hayes, Terry Gordy beat Baron Von Raschke, Boris Zhukov beat Steve O, Buck Zumhofe beat Ray Stevens dq and Steve O drew Billy Robinson. Attendance was 7,753.

1986 – Ric Flair defeated Dusty Rhodes for the NWA World Heavyweight
Wrestling Title in St. Louis, Missouri .

1997 – Hulk Hogan defeated Lex Luger to win the WCW World Heavyweight
Title at the Road Wild PPV in Sturgis, SD.  Also on the show, Rick & Scott Steiner defeated WCW World Tag Team Champions Scott Hall & Kevin Nash via DQ and WCW Cruiserweight Champion Alex Wright defeated Chris Jericho

1999 – Kane & X-Pac defeated The Acolytes for the WWF World Tag Team
Title during an edition of Monday Night Raw. Chris Benoit defeat David
Flair for the WCW United States Title during an episode of Monday Nitro.

Click Here: brisbane lions guernsey 2019

2001 – At the Brian Pillman Memorial Show in Ohio;  Chad Collyer defeated Pepper Parks, Shark Boy, and Matt Stryker in a Four Corners match to win the HWA Cruiserweight Title, Nick Dinsmore defeated Race Steele to win the HWA Title and Matt & Jeff Hardy defeated Edge & Christian and Chris Kanyon & Diamond Dallas Page in a three way match.

2010 – Angelina Love defeated Madison Rayne to win the TNA Knockouts Title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *